Final Withdrawal of Maltese Lira

On 1 January 2008, the euro became legal tender in Malta, replacing the Maltese lira (MTL). During January 2008, cash payments could be effected either in euro or Maltese lira, but change had to be tendered back in euro. After 31 January 2008 any Maltese lira cash could still be exchanged, free of charge, at banks for a three-month period ending 31 March 2008. Following this, redemption could only be effected at the Central Bank of Malta. The redemption of Maltese coins came to an end on 1 February 2010, whilst that of currency notes came to an end on 31 January 2018.

Since it was established, the Central Bank of Malta issued five series of Maltese lira currency notes as follows:-

  1. First Series in 1968;
  2. Second Series in 1973; 
  3. Third Series in 1979;
  4. Fourth Series in 1986;
  5. Fifth Series issued on 18 September 1989.

The below advert was used to inform the public about the final redemption of Maltese lira banknotes. For more information and statistics on this topic, you can read more here.

Last chance to exchange Maltese Lira Fifth Series banknotes