Since its establishment in 1968, the Central Bank of Malta (the Bank) assumed responsibility for the issue and control of currency notes and coins in Malta. The first series of Maltese currency notes was issued by the Bank in September 1969. Throughout the years the Bank issued various series of notes with the fifth and last series issued in September 1989.

On 16 May 1972, the Bank issued its first series of decimal coinage. Prior to this date Malta still used British coins. The first Maltese decimal coins consisted of the 50 cent, 10 cent, 5 cent, 2 cent, 1 cent, 5 mils, 3 mils and 2 mils coins. Subsequently the 25 cent and the Lm1 coins were introduced.

With the adoption of the euro in Malta on 1 January 2008, the Bank became responsible for the issuance of euro banknotes and coins in accordance with the principles and rules established within the Eurosystem.

The Bank is also responsible for ensuring the quality and authenticity of the banknotes and coins in circulation. The Currency Operations Office oversees the currency in circulation, and monitors suspect and counterfeit currency. Banknotes unfit for circulation are regularly withdrawn and destroyed, and replaced with new notes. The Office also ensures that the share of different denominations in circulation reflect demand.

The Bank also issues euro coins on behalf of the Government of Malta. The amount of euro coins issued is subject to prior approval by the European Central Bank in terms of Article 128 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union. Periodically, the Bank also issues commemorative €2 coins, as well as other legal tender coins in precious metal.

Fill out the Bank’s survey about cash usage in Malta and the perception of the public on the Euro banknotes and coins, by 25 August 2023.