About Us

Our role and functions


The Central Bank of Malta (the Bank) was established by the Central Bank of Malta Act on 17 April 1968. On 1 May 2004, the Bank joined the European System of Central Banks (ESCB) and on 1 January 2008 became part of the Eurosystem.

The main objective of the Central Bank of Malta as a Eurosystem member is to maintain price stability. To meet this objective, the Bank participates in the preparation and decision-making process of the Eurosystem’s monetary policy. The Bank also has other responsibilities as outlined in its mission statement. The Bank further collaborates with local authorities and international institutions on matters of common interest.

The Central Bank of Malta collaborates with local authorities and international institutions on matters of common interest.

On a local level the Bank cooperates closely with the Ministry for Finance and Financial Services, the Malta Financial Services Authority and the National Statistics Office, as well as with the Maltese banking and financial sector.

Internationally, apart from being a member of the European System of Central Banks and the Eurosystem, the Bank maintains relations with international economic and financial institutions of which Malta is a member. These institutions include the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development and the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank.


  1. The maintenance of price stability
  2. Reserves management
  3. Banker to the banks and the public sector
  4. Ensuring financial stability
  5. Formulation and implementation of a macro-prudential policy
  6. Issue of currency
  7. Relations with international institutions
  8. Economic analysis and research
  9. Collecting, compiling, disseminating and publishing statistics
  10. Promoting and supporting the development of financial markets and efficient payment and settlement systems