100th Anniversary of the 1921 Self-Government Constitution


100th Anniversary of the 1921 Self-Government Constitution


100th Anniversary of the 1921 Self-Government Constitution


On 24 September 2021, the Central Bank of Malta launched a silver numismatic coin marking the centenary of the 1921 self-government Constitution.

On 30 April 1921, hundreds of Maltese congregated in Valletta to witness the proceedings connected with the promulgation of the new Constitution, which granted the Maltese responsible government. It seemed that, after 120 years of British rule, Maltese aspirations for autonomy in local affairs were fulfilled. The Constitution established a diarchy through which an elected Maltese Government was responsible for local affairs, while the Imperial Government was responsible for 'reserved matters' which included defence and foreign policy. Elections were held in October 1921 and the first Maltese Parliament was inaugurated by Edward, Prince of Wales, on 1 November 1921.

The Maltese experiment with self-government was short-lived, as the Constitution was withdrawn in 1936. Nevertheless, it paved the way for further constitutional development, which culminated in Malta achieving political independence from Britain in 1964.

Only 1,500 coins are being issued, with a face value of €10. They were minted by the Royal Dutch Mint. Each coin is struck in 0.925 silver, has a weight of 28.28g, a diameter of 38.61mm and is finished to proof quality. The coins were designed and engraved by Noel Galea Bason. The obverse of the coins features the coat of arms of Malta, while the reverse depicts Melita, an allegory of Malta.



Diameter (mm)

Gross Weight (g)










Noel Galea Bason

Royal Dutch Mint