News - News Releases 2018


Last chance to exchange Maltese Lira Fifth Series banknotes

The Central Bank of Malta would again like to remind the public that in terms of Article 62(1) of the Central Bank of Malta Act (Cap 204), the Fifth Series banknotes, which ceased to be legal tender after 31 January 2008, after Malta adopted the euro, will not remain exchangeable after 12:30 of Wednesday 31 January 2018.

The Fifth Series banknotes consist of four denominations: Lm2, Lm5, Lm10 and Lm20. These banknotes were first issued in circulation on 18 September 1989. The four notes are coloured red (Lm2), blue (Lm5), green (Lm10) and brown (Lm20). They all have a common front side on which is depicted a female figure representing Malta holding a rudder.

These banknotes can only be exchanged from the Central Bank of Malta until 12:30 of 31 January 2018. After that date they will become worthless.

Members of the public wishing to exchange Maltese Lira banknotes of the Fifth Series are to call at the Central Bank of Malta, Binja Ġlormu Cassar, St James Counterguard, Valletta (with access from the Valletta Bus Terminus or from Girolamo Cassar Avenue) between 09:30 and 12:30, excluding bank and public holidays. An Identity Card is to be presented when calling at the Central Bank of Malta to exchange banknotes.

Persons exchanging Maltese Lira banknotes in excess of Lm200 are to present their IBAN number (obtained from their bank). In these cases payment will be made directly to their bank account.

For further information, the public is kindly requested to contact the Bank via email or by calling (+356) 2550 3520/1 from 8:00 to 16:00.

Back to Archive