News - News Releases 2015


Issue of new euro coin set dated 2015

On Tuesday, 23 June 2015 the Central Bank of Malta will issue a new euro coin set dated 2015. The set incorporates the eight Maltese euro coins as well as a €2 coin commemorating Malta's change of status to a republic in 1974. This coin is the fifth and final one in the series commemorating Maltese constitutional milestones.

All the coins in the set were struck at the Royal Dutch Mint. The euro coins were designed by Noel Galea Bason while the €2 commemorative coin was designed by Ġanni Bonnici.

The set, which is packed in a distinctive presentation box, also includes a replica Norman coin, and will be limited to 30,000. This may be purchased from the Malta Coins Distribution Centre at the main building of the Central Bank of Malta, or by completing the order form which can be downloaded from the Bank's website.

For further information, the public is kindly requested to contact the Malta Coins Distribution Centre by email or by calling (+356) 2550 6006/7/8. 

Dated coin set 2015

Back to Archive