Home > Currency > History
Print This Page


The Coinage of Malta

New Coins for Malta

In the light of recommendations of the Currency Decimalisation Committee appointed in 1967, the Maltese Government approved legislation in September 1971 providing for the decimalisation of the local coin currency. The British coins in local circulation - the ¼d, ½d, 1d, 3d, 6d, 1/-, 2/-, 2/6, the 5/- (Churchill Crown), and the 5p, 10p and 50p - were thus demonetised in stages, and in May 1972 a set of Maltese coins was issued in replacement. The Malta pound, which was renamed Maltese lira (Lm) in 1983, was retained as the currency unit. This was divided into 100 cents, and the 1 cent into 10 mils. Initially, eight coins were issued in the following denominations: 2 mils, 3 mils, 5 mils, 1 cent, 2 cents, 5 cents, 10 cents, 50 cents. The mils were in aluminium, the 1 cent in bronze, and the rest in cupro-nickel. On 13 December 1974, Malta was proclaimed a Republic within the Commonwealth. To commemorate this event, a 25 cents coin in nickel brass was issued in June 1975.

This decimal set represented the first coinage issued by Malta as an independent nation and marked a new era in which Malta's own coins could circulate exclusively as the Island's sole legal tender coinage.

In 1986, a new set of seven definitive coins was issued, in denominations of Lm1, 50 cents, 25 cents, 10 cents, 5 cents, 2 cents and 1 cent. The 10 cent coin was the first in the new set to be issued, introduced on 19 May 1986. An innovative feature in the new set was the Lm1 coin which replaced the Lm1 currency note.



Links | Email Subscription | Site Map | Contact Us
© Copyright 2002 Central Bank of Malta. Please read our Disclaimer and Data Protection Privacy Statement. Concept & design: Futuredesign Ltd.